This is the "Programs/Majors" page of the "Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Databases  

Online articles, books, videos, and other online resources you can access using your Belmont College library card.
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.belmontcollege.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Programs/Majors Print Page
  Search: 
 

Building Preservation/Restoration

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
  • Art & Architecture digital resources
    Art and architecture digital images from licensed sources, plus contributions from Ohio museums, libraries, and universities.
  • Art and Architecture Complete
    Art & Architecture Complete covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design and much more.
  • EBSCO Databases
    This link takes you to a list of EBSCO resources available to Belmont users.
  • Electronic Journal Center (EJC)  Icon
    Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that uses Flash Video, Windows Media and QuickTime to show films.
  • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
    This is a comprehensive full-text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today, including arts & crafts, collecting, and games.
  • Home Improvement Reference Center
    The definitive online resource for home improvement assistance in areas such as repair, maintenance, remodeling, electrical work and much more
  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
    Over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962 by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
  • Vocational and Career Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
  • Vocational Studies Premier  Icon
    This unique database covers such varied topics as: alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer and data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and dozens more.

Business

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
  • Business Abstracts with Full Text
    Contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business publications.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source
    Offers users full text for hundreds of periodicals and reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and hundreds videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator TV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that uses Flash Video, Windows Media and QuickTime to show films.
  • Mergent Online  Icon
    U.S. company data with financials details of over 25,000 active and inactive companies.
  • Regional Business News
    A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
  • Risk Management Reference Center
    This comprehensive risk management resource is ideal for risk management professionals, strategic planners, and business students. With thousands of full-text resources and over one million records addressing all types of risk, including credit, liquidity, operational, event, and market risk.
  • Safari Books Online  Icon
    Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields.
  • Vocational and Career Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
  • See "News" also

Criminal Justice/Legal/Law

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text  Icon
    Covering all areas of criminal justice, Criminal Justice Abstracts contains nearly 500,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
  • International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center  Icon
    This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security and counter-terrorism. Designed to inform the user of the analysis process behind security and counter-terrorism, this resource also serves to enhance the general understanding of this area.
  • Legal Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts and full text of articles on law and legal topics.
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
    Provides thousands of summaries of important law enforcement and criminal justice publications including books, government reports, research reports, journals and unpublished research. Content dates range from 1970 to the present.
  • Public Affairs Index  Icon
    Covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.

Early Childhood Education

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
  • Education Full Text
    Index, abstracts, and full text covering contemporary education issues.
  • Education Research Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
  • ERIC
    Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
  • ERIC (Public Access Interface)
    Educational Resources Information Center. Public Access (.gov) Interface. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
  • Kids Search (grades K-5)
    Graphical search interface for students in grades K-5.
  • Primary Search (for elementary school students)
    Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts, citations, and full text to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
  • Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students)
    A colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students.
  • Sociological Collection  Icon
    Database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Health/Nursing

  • Alt HealthWatch
    Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
  • Food Science Source
    This extensive full-text database is designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels. It offers cover-to-cover content for thousands of publications all directly dealing with food industry-related issues.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
  • MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO)
    A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals.
  • Natural & Alternative Treatments
    Articles on complementary and alternative medicine.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Journals  Icon
    This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
  • Nursing Journals for Community Colleges (OVID)  Icon
    Keeps nurses up-to-date on peer-reviewed evidence-based practice about key clinical topics, including cardiac and respiratory care, new drugs, new treatments, and nursing techniques. Please log off when finished.
  • PubMed (MEDLINE)
    PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. It is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. Includes full text.
  • Wiley Cochrane Library  Icon
    A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

Industrial Trades

  • Films on Demand  Icon
    A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that uses Flash Video, Windows Media and QuickTime to show films.
  • Vocational and Career Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
  • Vocational Studies Premier  Icon
    This unique database covers such varied topics as: alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer and data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and dozens more.

Information Technology

Library

  • Electronic Journal Center (EJC)  Icon
    Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in library and information science and technology.
  • Novelist Plus
    NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers’ advisory resource. With NoveList Plus, you can find titles, articles, and lists for you fiction and nonfiction needs.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip