This is the "General Research" page of the "Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Databases  

Online articles, books, videos, and other online resources you can access using your Belmont College library card.
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.belmontcollege.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

General Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

General

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
  • Associates Programs Source  Icon
    Subject areas covered in Associates Programs Source include computer and data processing, photography, veterinary assisting and many more.
  • Britannica Online - Academic Edition  Icon
    Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
  • EBSCO Databases
    This link takes you to a list of EBSCO resources available to Belmont users.
  • Electronic Journal Center (EJC)  Icon
    Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
  • OneSearch  Icon
    Allows for a single, simultaneous search of the Belmont Library's collection of books, articles, electronic journals, e-books, multimedia, and more, in one easy step.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online
    The complete texts of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press.
  • World Book Advanced  Icon
    World Book Encyclopedia, Spanish Language Encyclopedia, Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica, primary source materials, and other research tools.

Reference - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Almanacs

Finding a Research Topic

  • Issues & Controversies
    Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  Icon
    A database that is great for writing critical essays, researching reports or term papers, or preparing for a debate, or just the latest information on hot topics.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    A database with topics for debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
  • TOPICsearch
    Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

News

  • American Periodicals Series Online (APO)
    Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • Newspaper Source  Icon
    Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
  • Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
    The mission of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive focuses on creating, preserving and providing access to the news broadcasts. We have been recording these broadcasts since August 5, 1968. The core of our collection consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. We also record other news content as it happens beyond these newscasts, including material from other networks.
  • World News Digest  Icon
    Archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This publication of record is unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy.

Job Skills/Career

  • Vocational and Career Collection  Icon
    Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
  • Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success  Icon
    Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success provides resources to boost basic workplace and job search skills, and prepare job seekers for advanced occupational training. The interactive, self-paced learning approach allows job seekers to learn at their convenience. The intuitive platform provides the backbone students and all jobseekers need to succeed in the modern workplace.

    To use the tools, you first set up your own individual account while on campus. If you are off-campus, first use OhioLINK remote authentication proxy URL (click the gold key icon by the title of this database) to connect, and then login with your individual account.

Online Videos

  • Educational Films and Documentaries
    Full-length educational films and documentaries on many subjects.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that uses Flash Video, Windows Media and QuickTime to show films.
  • Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
    The mission of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive focuses on creating, preserving and providing access to the news broadcasts. We have been recording these broadcasts since August 5, 1968. The core of our collection consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. We also record other news content as it happens beyond these newscasts, including material from other networks.

Online E-books

  • Electronic Book Center (EBC)
    Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
  • Safari Books Online  Icon
    Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip