Last Updated: Mar 1, 2017
- Animoto (Free Educator account)
With Animoto, it's easy to create custom videos to use in your class. Animoto also makes it simple to share and download your finished videos. Educators can create a free Animoto Plus account.
- TubeChop: Chop YouTube videos
"TubeChop allows you to easily chop a funny or interesting section from any YouTube video and share it."
- Create Your Own Crossword
Create custom crossword puzzles. The finished puzzles can be printed or students can complete them online. You can also download answer sheets.
- Jeopardy Labs
Create a Jeopardy game or browse existing games
User-shared quizzes for various subjects
- Quiz Tree
Interactive educational games
Films On Demand gives faculty and students instant online access to over 6,200 full-length educational videos and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
OERs are free resources for you to use in your classroom. The link below will direct you to a guide filled with information and links for Open Educational Resources (OER).
- Center for Teaching Excellence (University of Kansas)
In addition to professional development and teaching information, this link also includes a Portfolio Gallery with printable versions of assignment ideas.
CK-12 contains free educational resources on a variety of subjects. Books, interactive items, exercises, and teaching materials are some of the resources that are offered.
- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
FREE (Federal Resources for Educational Excellence) makes it easier to find teaching and learning resources from the federal government. More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly.
- INFOMINE - Scholarly Internet Resource Collections from UC Riverside
INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.
- ipl2 (formerly Internet Public Library)
ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment. In January 2010, the website "ipl2: information you can trust" was launched, merging the collections of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science are involved in developing and maintaining the ipl2.
- Martindale's - The Reference Desk
Links to resources to virtually any topic!
- MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy. MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, collection of peer reviewed higher education, online learning materials, cataloged by registered members and a set of faculty development support services.
- Teacher's Domain
"Teachers' Domain is a free digital media service for educational use from public broadcasting and its partners. You’ll find thousands of media resources, support materials, and tools for classroom lessons, individualized learning programs, and teacher professional learning communities."
- Top 25 Websites for Teaching and Learning
This site contains yearly lists of the best websites for teaching and learning from the American Association of School Librarians. Past lists are also available.
- Verizon Foundation "Thinkfinity"
Verizon Thinkfinity offers comprehensive teaching and learning resources created by content partners – the most respected organizations in each academic subject and literacy.
"Wisc-Online is a digital library of Web-based learning resources called 'learning objects.'" There are over 2000 free learning objects available. The site also has a tool called GameBuilder that allows you to create custom educational games.
Free teaching resources for instructors and free tutorials for students.
- Educational Videos and free lectures on YouTube
Thousands of educational videos on various subjects are available.
- Educational Audio and Video at ITunesU
More than 800 universities have active iTunes U sites. About half of these institutions — including Stanford, Yale, MIT, Oxford, and UC Berkeley — distribute their content publicly on the iTunes Store.
- Free University Lectures listed at LectureFox
Lecturefox is a free service. You can find high-quality classes from universities all over the world. We collect without exception lectures from official universities, and we have a special interest in lectures from the faculties physics, chemistry, computer science and mathematics. In the category “faculty mix” you can find miscellaneous lectures from other departments like electrical engineering, biology, psychology, economics, history and philosophy.
- RefSeek - Directory of Educational Video sites
RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
- TVO--Ontario's public educational media organization
Hundreds of free full-length videos are available for streaming.
- PBS Video
Hundreds of PBS videos are available through free on-demand streaming.