This is the "Welcome" page of the "Online Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Students  

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2015 URL: http://libguides.belmontcollege.edu/Online Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Taking Online Courses

Many students desire the flexibility an online course allows while meeting the same learning outcomes as a traditional in-class course. Similar to a traditional in-class course, an online course follows a schedule and syllabus with quizzes, assignments, required readings, chat sessions and discussion board postings usually due by certain dates. Instead of attending lecture sessions in a classroom, online students access course content via the internet through PowerPoint presentations, podcasts, video demonstrations, assignments, websites, etc. The instructor maintains contact with the students through online office hours, chat sessions, email, or telephone.

Support for Belmont Online Students

  • College Departments
    Links to Belmont departments / resources.
  • E-Learning and Distance Education
    The E-Learning Coordinator assists students who experience problems with courses offered online through MyBelmont. Please click on the link above for hours, contact information, and a link for e-tutoring. This office maintains regular office hours on weekdays: Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM. Contact staff at aleoni@belmontcollege.edu or by calling 740-699-3831.
  • How-To Guides for Belmont Email, MyBelmont, VMWare, Passwords/Log-ins  Icon
    Students must login to MyBelmont to access these guides.
  • Information Systems Department
    Information Systems staff guide students experiencing email or MyBelmont questions, as well as hardware, software or internet issues directly related to their online course requirements. Staff is available: Monday - Thursday 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM, and Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM. IS Department can be reached by e-mail at supportdesk@belmontcollege.edu or by calling 740-695-8514.
  • Library Homepage
  • Student Success Center
    Located on the main campus, the Student Success Center provides testing and tutoring services to Belmont students. The hours are: Monday -Thursday 8am - 5pm and Friday 9-1. Student Success Center can be reached by e-mail at ssc@belmontcollege.edu or by calling 740-699-3883 or 740-695-9500 ext. 1080.

Before You Register

  • E-Learning Considerations
    Online courses are not "easy" and are not the right learning environment for everyone. Please click on the link above for suggestions for students considering online courses at Belmont College.
  • Pros and Cons of Online Education
    Education Insider News Blog covers basic arguments in favor of and in opposition to online courses.
  • Is Distance Learning Right for You?
    About.com article about personalities and habits that lead to success in the online learning environment.

Is Online Right for You?

If you are wondering whether online learning is right for you, this assessment tool could help you decide.  It provides insight into skill sets which lead to success in the online learning environment. 

  • Assessment tool
    The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill uses this survey to determine likely student success in online courses.
 

7 Tips for Successful Online Learners

This YouTube video contains seven basic tips for online students.

 

Online Ebooks

Use your Belmont library card to access these ebooks.

Cover Art
Community College Companion - Mark C. Rowh
E-book (electronic book) which is available through OhioLINK's Safari database. Please click on the link above to access the book, following authentication as a Belmont College student. Chapter 12 provides tips for students considering the online learning environment.

Cover Art
College Success Guide - Karine Blackett; Patricia Weiss
E-book (electronic book) which is available through OhioLINK's Safari database. Please click on the link above to access the book, following authentication as a Belmont College student. College Success Guide is designed to walk college students through steps that are proven to make them successful in college and life. Refer to Chapter 11 for "Ten Time Management Principles for Online Learners."

 

Print Books Available In the Belmont College Library

Click to see catalog information about each book and whether the book is available at the library.  Descriptions for each book were provided by the publisher.

Cover Art
An Introduction to Online Learning - Julie Lynn Globokar
This text introduces first-time distance learners to the realities of Web-based education and serves as the most comprehensive, practical guide to achieving success when facing online-specific barriers as well as common academic hurdles. Written by an experienced instructor, this invaluable aid shows students how to overcome challenges related to e-mail communication, technological catastrophes, staying organized on a daily basis, and more. Students learn to take advantage of the unique resources available for those enrolled in internet-based programs and to make the most of their Web-based educational experience by tailoring it to their personal strengths, needs, and learning styles.

Cover Art
Successful Online Learning: Managing the Online Learning Environment Efficiently and Effectively - Theresa A. Middleton Brosche
Successful Online Learning: Managing the Online Learning Environment Efficiently and Effectively is a necessary resource for students who are new to the online learning environment or for students who are already in the online learning environment and are seeking additional strategies or tips to help them manage the structure more productively. This handbook includes real-life scenarios, proven strategies, tips for success, and a checklist at the end of each chapter to help students understand and optimize the online learning environment. Key Topics Include: Communicating; Identifying learning styles Dealing with expected and unexpected challenges; Working in groups; Setting-up an ergonomically sound workspace; Writing and formatting papers; Encouraging collegiality; Managing the first day of the course; and Overcoming technological barriers and concerns.

Cover Art
Study Skills Connected - Stella Cottrell; Neil Morris
Engaging, accessible and practical, this book helps students to get the most out of new technologies to enhance their learning practices, engage with their studies and improve their study skills. Covering a broad range of topics, it encourages a reflective perspective on e-learning resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip